Welcome to Coles Books, Oxfordshire

Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

More Views

Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo
Product Ref. 9780008134631
£12.99

Availability: Out of stock

Hand Signed by Michael Morpurgo to the Title Page
Hardback 1st Edition
Description

Details

Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo

Hand Signed by Michael Morpurgo to the Title Page
Hardback 1st Edition
New and Unread

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+,in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION

This is a landmark new novel from the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken and maybe even the whole town.

About the Author:
Michael Morpurgo is one of Britain's best loved writers for children. He has written over 100 books and won many prizes, including the Smarties Prize and the Whitbread Award. In 2005 he won the Blue Peter Book Award for his novel Private Peaceful, which was also adapted into an acclaimed stage play. His subsequent book, The Amazing Story of Adolphus Tips, spent an astonishing 20 weeks in the bestseller charts, and his enormous success has continued with his most recent novels, Alone on a Wide Wide Sea and Born to Run.

Michael was Children's Laureate from 2003 to 2005. The charity Farms for City Children, which he founded thirty years ago with his wife Clare, has now enabled over 60,000 children to spend a week living and working down on the farm. He was knighted in 2018 for services to literature and charity.

Michael Morpurgo is, in his own words, oldish, married with three children, and a grandfather six times over. After schools in London, Sussex and Canterbury (one of which was horrible enough to inspire him to describe it obliquely in The Butterfly Lion), he went on to London University to study English and French, followed by a job in a primary school in Kent. It was there that he discovered what he wanted to do.

We had to read the children a story every day and my lot were bored by the book I was reading. I decided I had to do something and told them the kind of story I used to tell my kids – it was like a soap opera, and they focussed on it. I could see there was magic in it for them, and realised there was magic in it for me.

In 1976, Michael Morpurgo and his wife, Clare, started the charity Farms For City Children which aims to relieve the poverty of experience of young children from inner city areas by providing them with a week in which they work actively and purposefully on farms in the heart of the countryside. They now have three farms – Nethercott in Devon, Treginnis in Wales and Wick in Gloucestershire. As a teacher I realised many children had little real contact with the world around them – to them the television was real. I wanted them to experience life at first hand.

Format: Hardback 1st Edition
ISBN: 9780008134631

All our signed books include a 'Signed Copy' gift tag, supplied free of charge.

Please Note: By their very nature, all signed books will have been handled several times before they get to you. This may result in small marks to the dustjacket and title page, please also bear in mind that each signature will be a little different from the one we show here.

We use courier and signed for delivery services, so please use an address at which your parcel can be signed for during the normal working day.

Delivery

We'll despatch your order as quickly as we can. If a product is out of stock we will contact you to discuss the likely delivery time or an alternative product.

UK Delivery

Orders for delivery in the UK are despatched by Courier and will normally be delivered to you within a few days of placing your order (UK deliveries by Courier normally arrive the day after we despatch). Signed Books are shipped in specially made book mailing cartons, with the books themselves wrapped in paper and bubble wrap to protect them. Because we use courier and signed for delivery services, please use an address at which your parcel can be signed for during the normal working day.

First Item @ £3.75 (sometimes a shipping supplement may be added for particularly heavy books or specific postcodes*)
2 Items & Over @ £5.00 in total

*There are a number of Postcodes in the UK for which we will need to charge a shipping supplement, this will be calculated automatically during the checkout process. There are also a very small number of Postcode areas not covered by our delivery service, for these we will contact customers to agree a suitable and economic method of shipping. There may also be additional time required for delivery to some areas of the United Kingdom. View a complete table of Postcode Surcharges.

Overseas Delivery

Shipments to other EU countries:
First Book @ £15.00 (sometimes a shipping supplement will be added for particularly heavy books)
2 Books & over @ £30.00 in total

Shipments to the USA & Canada:
First Book @ £30.00
2 Books & over @ £50.00 in total

Shipments to the Rest of the World:
First Book @ £45.00
2 Books & over @ £60.00 in total

All overseas orders are shipped using a 'signed for' courier service - please provide an address at which your parcel can be signed for on receipt. We use the same packaging materials for our overseas deliveries as we do those in the UK.

It was the most impressive packaging that I have EVER SEEN!!! An ocd person's dream...

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.
x